- Joined
- Jul 13, 2007
- Messages
- 63,499
The officials fuck up again! Outrageous!
Yeah, it was a situation that calls for a two point conversion based on simple math.
Yeah, it was a situation that calls for a two point conversion based on simple math.
They have gone full retard. What constitutes a "completion" is the worst and most egregious example of a "rule" being inconsistently and arbitrarily applied. "He caught the ball and ran for 3 steps, but the ball came out when he was hit, so it's incomplete." or "He caught the ball, ran 3 steps, crossed the plane of the goal line, and then the ball came out when he hit the ground in the end zone. Incomplete pass." Or as in the case you cite, "The ball never stopped moving, he never had a grip on it, so, interception!" Full retard.
Oregon.
Congrats to your Packers. It was an exciting game.I bet you do.
Congrats to your Packers. It was an exciting game.![]()
They did it again. He caught the ball, took 3 steps, his knee went down to the ground making him down, and then they say it was incomplete because the ball was in his hand but touched the ground as he reached out after he was already down. Arbitrary and ridiculous.
Yeah, it was a situation that calls for a two point conversion based on simple math.
Not really. The Cowboys missed a lot of opportunities, and made a lot of mistakes in that game. I'm heartbroken, but I'm not delusional.Dallas got effed...
upside is they don't have to face Seattle.
That's what they get for having an owner who's too Texan to hug a fat bastard Republican powerhouse from Joisey.
He's from ArkansasThat's what they get for having an owner who's too Texan to hug a fat bastard Republican powerhouse from Joisey.
They did it again. He caught the ball, took 3 steps, his knee went down to the ground making him down, and then they say it was incomplete because the ball was in his hand but touched the ground as he reached out after he was already down. Arbitrary and ridiculous.
"Rapid Reaction: Dez Bryant catch reversed by 'process rule'"
...
The rule: The oft-cited "process rule" of the NFL rulebook has surfaced many times, most famously to deny an apparent touchdown catch by the Detroit Lions' Calvin Johnson in 2010. Here is what Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 reads: "If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete."
The review: Watched in slow motion, Bryant's action fits the description in the rule. He lost the ball as he stumbled to the ground. The ball touched the ground before Bryant regained control. Steratore, who was also the referee in the 2009 game involving Johnson and the Lions, reversed the initial ruling.
The explanation: NFL vice president of officiating Dean Blandino tweeted shortly after the game: "Bryant going to the ground. By rule he must hold onto it throughout entire process of contacting the ground. He didn't so it is incomplete....